Where Antelope Roam


Cultivating an Attitude of Gratitude…. Again!
January 7, 2017, 6:31 pm
Filed under: Day-to-Day | Tags: ,

Is having a spirit of gratitude important in life?   Are some people more able to have an attitude of gratitude than others?   Does having an attitude of gratitude depend on the circumstances of your life?   Can you have a spirit of gratefulness even when to all appearances your life is coming apart at the seams?  Maybe life isn’t coming apart at the seams but seems to have come to a ho-hum level….can we still have a grateful spirit?

These questions and more have been on my heart and mind a lot lately… especially having just come through the Christmas season realizing I’m officially an orphan and wondering exactly what is next for me.

Recently, one of my nieces commented that she had come upon one of her young daughters praying and thanking God for socks!   Not just her socks but for her sisters’ socks and her daddy’s socks.    Now on the surface this is a cute and humorous story but for me it was not only convicting but illuminating.

If you’ve been reading my blog, you may be aware that the year 2016 was a year for the books….perhaps it was for you as well.  As I read my niece’s post regarding her daughter’s gratitude for socks, something resonated deep in my soul.

When you have a year that is as emotionally and physically draining as mine was last year, your spirit can be so obscured that you cannot see anything to be grateful for.   I know I recounted to you the River Rocks God gave me last year and I am very grateful for those River Rocks… they were huge to me.   But what about the little things… the things we think are small or too insignificant to be grateful for…things like socks or perhaps it’s just the things we take for granted.   Like electricity, water…

I’m not one given to making resolutions just because the calendar says we’ve started a new year and it’s time for new beginnings.  In fact, I’m not really one to make resolutions because they generally just mean something to break.

Having said that, this year, I’ve decided I’m going to work at finding things for which to be grateful.

Things like:   sand hill crane as they fly over head; mule deer jumping over fences, antelope eating grain; papa pheasants protecting mama and youngins; meadowlark songs in the spring; redheaded woodpeckers knocking out their special song; sunrises/sunsets; sundogs; snowstorms.

It’s a little like the song from the Sound of Music, “My favorite Things.”  Many of the things listed are things we might consider to be small things, like raindrops on roses… snowflakes on noses….these are all things that we may or may not see and/or experience but all too often think nothing about.

Thought I’ve not answered many of my questions I started this with, my point in all of this, is in order to develop a grateful spirit, we need to intentionally observe our world through sight, sounds and smell then intentionally express gratitude.  When we focus on the things we have for which to be grateful, it will help lighten a weighted spirit during or after a valley time.

Until next time, love God, love others and develop a grateful spirit..again!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

